Tuesday, 13 April 2010

2010 Britpart MSA BCCC ready for the off

The 2010 Britpart MSA British Cross Country Championship (BCCC) kicks off next weekend with round one taking place near Ashby de la Zouch in Leicestershire.

A high quality entry has been obtained with several crews in with a shout of taking victory.

Defending champion Richard Kershaw is seeded at car 1 and he will again be using his successful GSR 206 Evo 9. With his new Freelander not yet ready Preston's Dan Lofthouse will use his Lofthouse Proto LD4 for round one and he and navigator Jonny Koonja are at car 2. Tim Dilworth, who took two victories in the 2009 championship, is at car 3 in his Subaru-engined Peugeot 206.

Martin Cox returns to the championship after a successful 2009 and he will start at car 4 in his Tornado Evo 1. Steve Smith rounds off the top 5 in his new JRG Indy 3, a Ford Focus-based machine powered by a BMW M3 engine.

At car 6 is Warrington's Tony Coid in his Tomcat 100 while at 7 Greg Macleod will debut his Maxtraction Milner R5, Greg combining the BCCC this year with some events abroad in his Bowler Nemesis. Ian Bartlett starts at number 8 in the Bartletts 3M206 with the Bowler Tomcat of Richard Green at 9. Hyde's Martin Gould, who had mixed fortunes in 2009's championship, is at number 10 in his Mattserati.

Outside of the top ten there are several crews making a return to the championship after a break. Gordon Monaghan is at car 20 in his self-built Monaghan RS Ford RS200 replica with Ryan Cooke starting one car behind him. Andrew Wilson also returns to the championship in his Range Rover.

In the Trophy category the field will be led away by championship sponsor Paul Myers in the Britpart 100 car.

A total of 43 entries have been received for round 1, a significant increase over 2009. For more information on the championship please visit www.marches4x4.com.