Saturday, 7 November 2009

Gravel and asphalt mini-series for 2010 BHRC

The 2010 Dunlop/ MSA British Historic Rally Championship will feature two dedicated mini-series for gravel and asphalt rallies, with five gravel rallies in the Water End Properties Gravel Cup and four asphalt events qualifying for the Water End Properties Asphalt Cup.

The best performance on each surface has been recognised for the last two years, and the 2009 winners were Dessie Nutt/Geraldine McBride (gravel) and Paul Mankin/Desmond Bell (asphalt).

However, in 2010 the concept will be taken further by additional awards and the inclusion of a fourth asphalt event. Although not a part of the overall BHRC for 2010, the Harry Flatters Historic Rally on Epynt will be included in the Water End Properties Asphalt Cup to give competitors four sealed-surface rallies.

"Some competitors want more gravel rallies and some competitors want more asphalt events," said championship manager Simon Marks. "Whilst the overall BHRC will continue to be decided over both types of surface, this development will particularly suit those competitors who prefer either gravel or asphalt. We already had five strong gravel rallies and have included the Harry Flatters for those who would like to focus on asphalt rallies."

The awards for each mini-series will include first, second and third overall as well as class awards. In the gravel series, competitors will score their best four results from five rallies. Meanwhile in the asphalt series, where the three 'over-the-water' events in the Isle of Man, Ulster and Flanders accrue additional points, competitors will be able to miss one of these three rallies and still challenge for awards.

"These awards recognise that certain historic cars are much more suited to one surface than the other, not to mention some of the drivers," said Steven Smith of Water End Properties. "We specifically wanted to give those crews something worthwhile to get out and compete for."

To be eligible for either series, competitors must be members of the Historic Rally Car Register.

The provisional calendars are:

Water End Properties Gravel Cup
27 March; Bulldog Rally (Wales)
24 April; Pirelli Historic Rally (Kielder)
6 June; Severn Valley Stages (Wales)
20 June; Mid Wales Stages (Wales)
25 Sept; Trackrod Historic Cup (Yorkshire)

Water End Properties Asphalt Cup
9/10 July; Isle of Man Historic Rally
1 August; Harry Flatters Historic Rally (Epynt)*
20/21 August; Ulster Historic Rally
11/12 Sept; Tour of Flanders (Belgium)

* Not a round of the 2010 BHRC